Applies to VoipNow 3 and higher!
This article describes how to configure the sharing policies for a User account in order to set the type of data to be shared and the users that will have access to information related to your extension. By offering a large perspective on the system processes, this feature is equally useful for all your extensions or small-numbered groups that need to share voicemails, call recordings, fax messages, etc.
The sharing policies of a User account can be managed if the User is multi user aware. This feature allows the extension to communicate with other extensions available on the same client account and to use them when setting up features involving call redirection. To check if this permission was enabled for a specific account, please follow the steps below:
- Click the Roles and phone numbers icon available in the user's management page.
- If you have logged in to the VoipNow interface as a system administrator or as one of the parent accounts of the user, you can view the User is multi user aware permission displayed in the first section. If the corresponding checkbox is not already selected, please do so now.
The Resource Sharing section that allows you to manage the content and the participants in the sharing process of the extension is displayed ONLY when the User is multi user aware.
If you have logged in as a User and you have not been granted this permission by one of your parents, then your account will not able to share anything. Consequently, the corresponding sharing policies icon will not be displayed on your homepage.
Set up for resource sharing
After making sure the appropriate permission is enabled, you can set up the Resource Sharing option. Click on the Resource Sharing icon available in the Account section on the User's management page. Using the available controls, you can allow the user to share their call history, voicemails, call records, and fax messages with other user groups or to everyone the same organization. The user will be able to read shared information from their own interface. However, they will not be allowed to delete anything.
A User account can share information as follows:
Voicemails cannot be shared unless the Enable voicemail checkbox has been previously selected from the extension's configuration page. For more information, see the Phone Terminal Setup section.
If required, the messages recorded when the user was unavailable to pick up the call can be shared as well.
- Incoming fax messages
Faxes cannot be shared unless the Enable fax center checkbox has been previously selected from the extension's configuration page. For more information, see the Phone Terminal Setup section.
All fax messages received by the extension can be shared.
- Call recordings
Call recordings cannot be shared unless the Enable call recordings checkbox has been previously selected from the extension's configuration page. For more information, please see the Phone Terminal Setup and the Queue Setup sections from this guide. If the appropriate feature is enabled, then the extensions can record their conversations and the user that owns the extension can make them available for other users.
- Call history
The extension's incoming and outgoing calls can be shared with other accounts as well.
All extensions with a multi user aware permission can share their call history.
Here are the sharing options:
- Some users only - The user shares data with other users included in a User Group that was previously created.
- Everyone - The user shares data with all the users with enabled voicemail of the same organization.
To unassign a group, simply select its name in the Assigned groups list; if you want to unassign all the groups, then you need to select Everyone.
Except where otherwise noted, content in this space is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International.